Permit to Purchase

Where to Apply

The McLeod County Sheriff's Office will process applications for permits to purchase a pistol or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon from residents of McLeod County who live in one of the following cities or townships:

 Acoma Township   Penn Township 
 Bergen Township  Rich Valley Township
 Collins Township  Round Grove Township
 Glencoe Township  Sumter Township
 Hale Township  Winsted Township
 Hassan Valley Township     City of Biscay
 Helen Township  City of Plato
 Hutchinson Township  City of Stewart
 Lynn Township  

Applicants who live in a city that is served by a full-time police department must contact their police department to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun.

Application Requirements

Permit to Purchase/Transfer can be dropped off or submitted through the U.S. Mail.  Identification is not required.  Applicants must be 21 years of age to purchase a hand gun and 18 years of age to purchase a military style assault rifle.  Most people can pick up, complete, and submit the application in one short visit to the Sheriff's Office.

The chief of police or sheriff shall issue a transferee permit or deny the application within seven days of application for the permit.  The chief of police or sheriff shall provide an applicant with written notification of a denial and the specific reason for the denial.  The permits and their renewal shall be granted free of charge.

For complete information regarding Minnesota State Law governing the transfer of a pistol or military style assault weapon, view the Minnesota Statutes.